With the bad weather, I decided to switch days since Friday is going to be snowing! I started off with my usual warm-up, which I may need to change back to putting and then throwing some drives separately. I then played AWOL and again… decided to play another round of AWOL with both rounds being scored.

This looks like a great drive… it would have been if I intended it to take the path it took.
The disc went through some of those trees to the left of the picture… not an intended line.
Why doesn’t this count as a completion of a hole?
My second best drive on AWOL hole 11. I went back through my old drives and I am getting better with my distance and a little better with my accuracy. I guess that’s improvement?
I was in the same basic situation as last time with a drive that didn’t reach it’s full potential… because I hit a tree. Instead of doing a forced putt style throw… I decided to do a proper upshot. This led to a par save, which I am good with.
It was nice to throw a solid drive on AWOL hole 13. I decided to not reach back as far and it may have helped with a good drive.
Well, I started off bad, except for hole 2. I was a little “not warmed up” and riding the wave of “not so good” rounds at Corbin earlier in the week.
This is the same picture as my first round hole 2. On my second round, the group in front of me allowed me to play through because they were doing a practice round. I stepped up to the tee pad with my trusty Explorer and threw the ideal line and speed on the disc.

The disc came to rest on the opposite of the basket, just past that little tree. My putt was a little obstructed, but fairly easy if I just putted from a knee, which I did make.

Now I would love to know what I did right on that throw!
On my second round, I had one of my best drives on hole 3. I thought to myself, this is a chance to get my first scored birdie. Well, I hit the chains on the right side and so the struggle continues.
You have to love it when you throw your line and the disc comes to rest just in front of the basket.
AWOL hole 15 is still a struggle. It’s only 272′ with a 15′ or so gap if you go down the middle… but it does allow a left to right route which is great for lefties and righties with a solid forehand… which isn’t me at this point.

This is my chance to save par with an upslope putt. I kept my chin up, got some weight shift, aimed high, and followed through well for the save.
Yay! The second round was an improvement of five strokes from the first round and a round I can be satisfied with.

I was glad to play the second round and get my short term confidence a little higher. A few things that I realized, but will probably forget…

  • I don’t need to reach back as far on lower power drives, but I still need to rotate my shoulders.
    • I told myself this during holes 7 & 8 on round two and it helped me to reduce those holes by 3 strokes, but I had a chance to save two more with better putts.
  • I need to continually keep my form cues in my mind. They are reminders of what I want to do and being able to experience what I am doing during my throw instead of going into autopilot mode.
  • Paige Pierce putts from the knee from time to time to keep her putting position similar to a normal putt. With the baby trees, it will be helpful to get more comfortable with putting from the knee.

AWOL Throws [03-12-2020]

One thought on “AWOL Throws [03-12-2020]

  1. Sounded/looked like a good day of throwing out at the real links. I seriously don’t know how you can putt accurately with so many trees in the ways, especially that one with the purple disc and a split trunk tree right in front of the basket, but obviously you continue to hone that skill. I have no idea what putting from the knee is but it sounds like’s it something someone as petite as her could pull off far easier than someone over 6′, but hey, what is life if not a challenge?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.